Next Life - Guru Meditation

Next LifeGuru Meditation

Fysisk Format, 21. Aug 2020
UPC 7041889510160
Digital FY146
Hires images:
1. Guru Meditation
2. The Beyond Perception
3. Prophecy Come True
4. Alive
5. Strength I
6. Part Human
7. Astral Emenation
8. Infinite Karmic Repetition
9. Dexterity II
10. Apocalypse 19
11. Slow Dive
12. Eternal Twilight
13. Intelligence III

8-bit thrash metal from Norway!

Next Life from Borgheim, Norway started out in 1999 and was the first band in the world to combine 8-bit computer synthesizers (so-called chiptunes) in metal. The result is a stunning fusion of chaotic DIY punk with strict form, gaming culture with the art world. By taking cues from innovative hardcore bands like The Locust and Converge and combining it with the megalomania of metal bands like Zeni Geva, Mayhem and Meshuggah, founding member Hai Nguyen Dinh made Next Life the truly singular voice it is in today's music scene.

"Guru meditation" is the opening track and title track on Next Life's fourth album. The title is taken from the Amiga "bluescreen of death". The album is scheduled for release on Fysisk Format August 21st and is the third album to feature drummer Anders Hangård (Nidingr, Noplacetohide).

The seed to what was to come Next Life was planted when the band's visionary founder Hai Nguyen Dinh, aged six, wrecked the family's TV-speakers while playing "Exploding Fist"on his Commodore 64. Next Life is an expression of Hai Nguyen Dinh's diverse background as internationally touring professional stage performer (with Verdensteateret), world-class ranked gamer in Tetris and Diablo 3 and his life long dedication to visionary extreme music.

My values are expressed in the music, I want the sound to be hard, distinct and transparent, as in old 8-bit computer games: Minimalist in the technology but maximalist in the combination of elements. Creating massive riches out of the tiniest particles.
says Next Life-founder Hai Nguyen Dinh and continues about the ideas behind the band:

Next Life has always been about using old technology, not just for the nostalgic sound of it, but as and expression of our political view: Technology and humanity is in unbalance and we need to step back and make better use of the existing technology rather than the raging consumerism of keeping updated with the shifting technology. Music and art is the first place where new ideas can take form and, in time, change society.

Next Life by Next Life
Next Life by Next Life

Written in Brest, Bretagne, 2019, produced in Borgheim, Norway, 2020 by Hai
Recorded in 2019-2020 by Hai and Hans-Petter Lund Jørgensen
Mastered by Audun Strype at Strype Audio
Cover design by Hai, Sturla Sandsdalen and Ingrid Kallevik